What do I do if I’ve sent a payment by mistake using Pingit?

Payments you’ve sent to another Pingit user usually go into their account immediately. If you've entered the wrong information and confirmed the payment, please call the Pingit Helpdesk on 0333 200 1012*.

We'll do what we can to get the money back for you, but Data Protection Act regulations surrounding the account of the person you accidentally paid do restrict what we can do.

If you’ve sent a payment to someone who doesn’t have Pingit or Paym, they’ll get a text asking them to register for Pingit within 7 days to get the money.

This is called a ‘pending payment’, and it can be cancelled before the recipient registers for Pingit. If you’ve got an iOS or Android phone, you can do this in the app:

  • Tap the recipient’s name on the Activity screen
  • Tap ‘Cancel’

If you have a Windows phone and you want to cancel a pending payment, ring us on 0333 200 1012*.

*Calls to 03 numbers are charged at the same rate as dialling an 01 or 02 number. If your fixed line or mobile service has inclusive minutes to 01/02 numbers, then calls to 03 are counted as part of this inclusive call volume.
Non-BT customers and mobile phone users should contact their service providers for information about the cost of calls.
To maintain a quality service, we may monitor and record phone calls.